Friday, April 12, 2013

Emptyset at Secret Thirteen Mix #063

Formed in 2005 by American-born musician James Ginzburg and British contemporary art curator Paul Purgas after meeting through the consistently fruitful Bristol, U.K. music scene, the pair found that, while their day-to-day backgrounds differed, their musical reference points seemed to match. Emptyset's debut release, the Acuphase EP, came in 2007, followed later that year by the Isokon EP. These early 12"s drew heavily on minimal techno, and it wasn't until the release of Emptyset's self-titled 2009 debut album that the duo's original concept came into fruition. The album explored the sound of reprocessed sine waves through various compressors, EQs, and amplifiers, feeding back on themselves and creating a throbbing, bass-heavy sound that drew as much from the Bristol bass music scene as it did from techno. Their latest work "Material" on Subtext Recording has just been released in March 2013

+++ tracklist +++

Thomas Köner – Untitled “album Nunatak Gongamur” [Barooni, 1990]
Violetshaped – The Lord Won’t Forget (Roly Porter Remix) [Violet Poison, 2012]
Paul Jebanasam – Rites II [Subtext, 2013]
Emptyset – Trawsfynydd Nuclear Power Station – Snowdonia, Wales 17.12.12 [Subtext, 2013]
Peder Mannerfelt – Arss [We Can Elude Control, 2012]
Andy Stott – Expecting [Modern Love, 2012]
Demdike Stare – Misappropriation [Modern Love, 2013]
Ilpo Väisänen – Autioitu 1 [Mego, 2001]
Signal – Rawema [Raster-Noton, 2007]
Emptyset – Awake [Caravan Recordings, 2009]
Alva Noto feat. Anne-James Chaton – Uni Acronym [Raster-Noton, 2011]
Powell – Oh No New York [The Death Of Rave, 2013]
Sleeparchive – MRI Scanner [Sleeparchive, 2007]
Helm – Arcane Matters [Pan, 2012]
Emptyset – Collapse [Raster-Noton, 2012]
Diamond Version – Sense of Urgency [Mute, 2013]
Ugandan Methods – A Cold Retreat [Boomkat Editions, 2012]
Shadow – Where There Is Only Light [Avian, 2012]
Metasplice – Thermite Jack [Morphine Records, 2012]
Diamond Version – Turn On Tomorrow [Mute, 2013]
Jeff Mills – I9 [Axis, 1996]
Mika Vainio – Barbarians [Raster-Noton, 2009]
Kangding Ray – Oise [Stroboscopic Artefacts, 2012]
Vainio / Väisänen / Vega – Red Light Down [Blast First, 1998]
Laurie Spiegel – Drums [Unseen Worlds, 2012]

+++ link +++

No comments: