Wednesday, January 02, 2013

Orphx - Secret Thirteen Mix 050

Since the mid-1990s, Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey have been creating a unique fusion of techno, industrial, and electro-acoustic music. Using modular and analog synthesizers, software, location recordings and feedback circuits, Oddie and Sealey draw upon the darker tendencies of techno, electro, and dub, and combine these elements with the experimental aesthetics of early industrial music. Orphx has gained an international following as one of the pioneering acts within the European "rhythmic noise" scene and has more recently come to the attention of techno fans through their releases and remix work on Sonic Groove and Semantica. They have performed in numerous countries around the world, appearing at venues such as Berghain (Berlin), Mutek (Montreal) and Qwartz (Paris), and sharing the stage with artists such as Alva Noto, Laurie Anderson, Legowelt, Marcel Dettmann, Monolake, Pan Sonic, Shed and many others. Oddie and Sealey have also collaborated on audio / visual projects and exhibitions related to
their musical work. Orphx have released nine albums and numerous singles on vinyl, cd and cassette. Their most recent work further develops a dark hybrid of techno, dub and industrial that has been met with critical acclaim from many of techno's leading DJs.

+++ tracklist +++

Mika Vainio – Elvis’s TV Room [Touch, 2012]
Daniel Menche – Incineration (Part Two) [Soleilmoon Recordings, 1993]
Daphne Oram – Pulse Persephone [Young Americans, 2011]
Experimental Audio Research – Beyond the Pale [Big Cat UK Records, 1996]
Conrad Schnitzler – Underwater Church [Spalax Music, 1992]
The Infant Cycle – 4 AM Wallpaper (Part Five) [Doomsday Transmissions, 1995]
:zoviet*france: – Not Just What To Say [Charrm, 1993]
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Their Helicopters’ Sing [Constellation, 2012]
Swans – A Piece Of the Sky (Part One)[Young God Records, 2012]
Raime – Exist In The Repeat Of Practice [Blackest Ever Black, 2012]
Daphne Oram – Episode Metallic [Young Americans, 2010]
DSCRD – Maskinen [Stroboscopic Artefacts, 2012]
Shackleton – Music For The Quiet Hour Part 1 [Woe To The Septic Heart!, 2012]
Black Rain – Now I’m Just A Number [Blackest Ever Black, 2012]
Muslimgauze – Mullah Said [Staalplaat, 2008]
Diamond Version – Forever New Frontiers [Mute, 2012]
Violetshaped – Delusory Parasitosis (Vatican Shadow remix) [Violet Poison, 2012]
Ugandan Methods – Imperium [Boomkat Editions, 2012]
Sendai – EP2010-4 [Time To Express, 2012]
Pansonic – Uranokemia [Blast First, 1996]
Byetone – Topas [Raster-Noton, 2011]
Contact With A Curve – The Absurdity Of Consciousness (Part One) [Freedom In A Vacuum, 1994]
Shackleton – Music For The Quiet Hour Part 4 [Woe To The Septic Heart!, 2012]
The Hafler Trio – Masturbatorium [Touch, 1991]
Perc – Work Softer (Orphx Remix) [Prosthetic Pressings, 2013]
Silent Servant – Strange Attractor [Hospital Productions, 2012]
Function – Variance (CH-Signal Edit) [Sandwell District, 2009]
Maurizio – M7 [Maurizio, 1997]
Spacetank – Membran [Shitkatapult, 2000]
Teste – The Wipe (5am Synaptic) [Probe Records, 1992]
The Aphex Twin – Isoprophlex [R & S Records, 1992]
UR – The Final Frontier [Underground Resistance, 1991]

+++ link +++

No comments: